WSK Open Cup, rd 2, Adria: heats – Pex (KZ2), Barnard (OK), Ugochukwu (OKJ), Gladysz (Mini) are the leaders

Another day full of action at the Adria Karting Raceway, with the Qualifying Heats valid for the second round of the Open Cup. It’s all settled for the KZ2 and OK categories while the starting grids of the OKJ and MINI pre-finals will be decided after the last Heats scheduled for tomorrow morning.

KZ2: Stan Pex again

Tyres: Vega

  • After taking Pole for the pre-final of the first round, Stan Pex (KR Motorsport – KR –TM Racing) will start from the first spot also in that of the second round. With two firsts and a second place, the Dutchman wins Viktor Gustavsson (Leclerc By Lennox Racing – Birel ART – TM Racing), who today scored a first, a second and a third place.
  • Danilo Albanese (KR Motorsport – KR –IAME) will start tomorrow from the second row thanks to two third places obtained today. At his side will be Leonardo Marseglia (Marseglia Pasquale – Birel ART – TM Racing), who crossed the finish line in second position in the last heat.
  • Putyatin Vyacheslav (CPB Sport – Sodikart – TM Racing), fifth, precedes Tom Leuillet (Praga Racing Team – Prague – TM Racing) and Juho Valtanen (KR Motorsport – KR –TM Racing) who share the same penalty points. The Finn had to deal with a 5 second penalty in the last heat for the front nose out of position.
  • The same penalty was also handed to Senna Van Walstijn (CPB Sport – Sodikart – TM Racing), ninth at the end of the heats behind Davide De Marco (Team Driver Racing Kart – KR -IAME). Nikita Artomov (CPB Sport – Sodikart – TM Racing) rounds out the top ten.


OK: Taylor Barnard makes a hat-trick

Tyres: Bridgestone

  • With three wins out of three heats, Taylor Barnard (Rosberg Racing Academy – KR – IAME) secures the pole position for tomorrow’s Prefinal. Next to him will be Nikola Tsolov (DPK Racing – KR – IAME), second twice today and then fourth in the last heat.
  • Norton Andreasson (Ward Racing – Tony Kart – Vortex), third, precedes Tuukka Taponen (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) and Lorenzo Travisanutto (Parolin Racing Kart – Parolin – TM Racing) who recovered respectively 4 and eight positions compared to qualification.
  • Sixth Marcus Amand (VDK Racing – KR – IAME), who on Wednesday was unable to put together a good lap and therefore started from the back in the first heat. But, at the end of the last one, the Frenchman is second on the line.
  • From seventh to tenth position we find Nikolas Pirttilahilati (Forza Racing – Exprit – TM Racing), Andrey Zhivnov (Team Komarov – Tony Kart – TM Racing), who instead will start from pole in the Prefinal of the first round, Alfio Spina (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) and Levente Revesz (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME)
  • Brando Badoer (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), on Wednesday fourth in qualifying and today twelfth, loses ground, as does Alex Dunne Alex Dunne (Energy Corse – Energy Corse – TM Racing), who, from seventh ,now sits in sixteenth. Bad day also for Cristian Bertuca (Birel ART Racing – Birel ART – TM Racing), today 18th despite starting from the sixth spot.


OKJ: Ugochukwu leads the way

Tyres: Vega

  • The European Champion Ugo Ugochukwu (Sauber karting Team – KR – IAME) redeems yesterday’s unlucky day and thanks to a victory and a second place he temporarily takes the lead in the ranking of heats valid for the second round. It should be noted, however, that the American also raced one heat less than Arvid Lindblad (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME), who now sitss the second position, but with the same penalty points as the leader thanks to two wins a second place.
  • The third position is currently occupied by Karol Pasiewicz (Birel ART Racing – Birel ART – TM Racing), who also raced only two heats, ahead of Manuel Scognamiglio (Gamoto – Tony Kart – Vortex) and Tymoteusz Kucharczyk (Birel ART Racing – RK – TM Racing). Fluctuating day for the Pole, who alternates two wins with an eleventh place.
  • The World Champion Freddie Slater (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – Kosmic – Vortex) is sixth ahead of countryman Harley Keeble (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) who, like yesterday, recovered 15 positions compared to qualifying, despite having raced a heat less than his opponents.
  • Rounding out the top ten are Francesco Marenghi (Team Driver Racing Kart – KR –IAME), Martinius Stenshorne (Leclerc By Lennox Racing – Birel ART – TM Racing) and Maxwell Dodds (Parolin Racing Kart – Parolin – TM Racing). Among these, Stenshorne is the only one to have raced all three heats, where he manages to get two second places.
  • The poleman Tobias Clausen (Ricky Flynn Motorsport – Kosmic – Vortex) ends up outside the top ten, currently 11th ahead of Alex Powell (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME). Dmitry Matveev (KR Motorsport – KR – IAME) and Darius-lucian Babaioana (Transkart Racing Club – KR – IAME) make up several positions: the Russian is now 15th after failing to set a valid time in qualifying while the Romanian recovers 24 positions to enter the top 20.

Provisional results 

MINI: Gladysz on top

Tyres: Vega

  • There is Maciej Gladysz (Parolin Racing Kart – Parolin – TM Racing) today at the top of the MINI ranking, thanks to a victory and two second places that give the Pole the same penalty points as Gerasim Skulanov (Formula K Serafini ASD – IPK – TM Racing), second with two wins and a fourth place.
  • René Lammers (Baby Race Driver Academy – Parolin – TM Racing), after securing first place in the first round, is third today, but having raced one heat more than the first two. The Dutchman managed to put together a win, two second places and a third place.
  • A victory also went to Salim Hanna Hernandez (Energy Corse – Energy – TM Racing) who, in fourth position, precedes Nakamura-Berta (Team Driver Racing Kart – KR – IAME) and Cristian Costya (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex ).
  • Mark Kastelic (Team Driver Racing Kart – KR -IAME) recovers 11 positions and moves up to seventh place ahead of Antonio Apicella (Team Driver Racing Kart – KR -IAME), Tiziano Monza (Sauber Karting Team – KR – IAME) and Aleksandar Bogunovic ( Gamoto – Tony Kart – TM Racing). Monza and Bogunovic scored also one victory each.
  • Marcus Saeter (Revolution Motorsport ASD Energy Corse – TM Racing) and Jules Caranta (Tony Kart Racing Team – Tony Kart – Vortex) make up 20 positions each, sitting in 13th and 14th respectively. Behind them we find Andres Cardenas (Energy Corse – Energy – TM Racing), the other winner of the day.

Provisional resultsi 

©Photo: Sportinphoto