231 drivers at the opener of WSK Super Master Series in Adria

231 drivers at the opener of WSK Super Master Series in Adria

WSK Super Master Series edition 2020 got underway with 231 verified drivers at the Adria Karting Raceway for the first of the four rounds with the three entitled categories OK (71 drivers), OKJ (75 drivers) and Mini (85 drivers) on track. The 15th WSK Promotion’s season kicked off to a good start after the WSK Champion Cup that took place last week with a total participation of 170 drivers in the same three categories. A total of 40 countries are represented in this event as drivers came from all 5 Continents. The biggest constructors and strongest teams are present fielding the most competitive drivers on the international scene.

Bedrin, Trulli and Antonelli flying in qualifying of OK.

Brando Badoer (KR-Iame-Vega/KR Motorsport) put in again a convincing performance in OKJ posting the quickest time in the second session in 49.757s. He was 0.01s faster than the Pole Karol Pasiewicz (Tony Kart-Vortex/Tony Kart Racing Team) and just over a tenth quicker than the French Evan Giltaire (Sodi-TM Racing/Sodikart). The Pole Tymoteusz Kucharczyk (RK-TM Racing/BirelArt) was the fastest of session one in 49.774s and led the American Ugo Ugochuku (Kosmic-Vortex/Ricky Flynn) who completed his best lap after 49.853s and the Russian Artem Severiukhin (Tony Kart-Vortex/Ward) in 49.879s. The third session saw Singapore’s Christian Ho (KR-Iame/Sauber) posting the fastest time in 49.829s and leading the two Brits Arvid Lindblad (KR-Iame/KR Motorsport), whose fastest time was a 49.969s and Maxwell Dodds (Exprit-TM Racing/Forza Racing) who completed his best lap in 49.970s.

Badoer, Kucharczyk and Ho shining in OK-Junior.

Una conferma nelle prove della OKJ anche in questa prova è arrivata dall’altro figlio d’arte, Brando Badoer (KR-Iame-Vega/KR Motorsport), con il miglior tempo assoluto fatto registrare nella seconda serie in 49.757, con il giro più veloce per 10 millesimi di secondo sul polacco Karol Pasiewicz (Tony Kart-Vortex/Tony Kart Racing Team) e poco più di un decimo sul francese Evan Giltaire (Sodi-TM Racing/Sodikart). Nella prima serie è stato il polacco Tymoteusz Kucharczyk (RK-TM Racing/BirelArt) a ottenere il miglior tempo in 49.774, davanti all’americano Ugo Ugochuku (Kosmic-Vortex/Ricky Flynn) in 49.853 e il russo Artem Severiukhin (Tony Kart-Vortex/Ward) in 49.879. Nella terza serie si è imposto l’asiatico di Singapore Christian Ho (KR-Iame/Sauber) in 49.829 sui due inglesi Arvid Lindblad (KR-Iame/KR Motorsport) in 49.969 e Maxwell Dodds (Exprit-TM Racing/Forza Racing) in 49.970.

Matveev leads Saeter and Gladysz in Mini.

The crowded Mini – category employing the newly FIA homologated chassis and engines – saw the Russian Dmitry Matveev (Energy-TM Racing-Vega/Energy Corse) posting the quickest time in the second session in 54.783s, being 0.052s faster than the Pole Jan Przyrowsky (Parolin-TM Racing/AV Racing) and just over 0.2s faster than the French Jimmy Helias (Tony Kart-Vortex/Tony Kart Racing Team). The Norwegian Marcus Saeter (Energy-TM Racing/Revolution) claimed the fastest lap of the first session in 55.195s, while the Turkish Alp Aksoy (Parolin-TM Racing/Baby Race) was second in 55.331s and the Italian Valerio Proietti (KR-Iame-Giugliano Kart) third in 55.358s. The quickest time of the third session was posted by the Pole Maciej Gladysz (Parolin-TM Racing/Parolin Racing Team) in 54.835s, who pipped his teammate from Russia Anatoly Khavalkin that posted a best lap of 54.849s, and the other teammate from Luxembourg Guillaume Bouzar (54.888s).

nitial qualifying heats.

The initial heats took place at the end of the racing day. Further heats will take place on Saturday. The three Czech Republic sisters Babickova Eliska and Tereza in OK, Perta in OKJ also at the WSK Super Master Series. Their objective is to qualify for the finals on Sunday, February 2nd.

Two heats have taken place for OK and Mini, while four heats have been run by OK-Junior drivers.

The Russian Kirill Smal (Energy-TM Racing/Energy Corse) won OK’s heat, leading Antonelli in second, while the Brit Joe Turney (Tony Kart-Vortex/Tony Kart Racing Team) led Trulli.

The victory in OK went to the Brit Joe Turney (Tony Kart-Vortex/Tony Kart Racing Team), while Antonelli was second and the Russian Kirill Smal (Energy-TM Racing/Energy Corse) third leading Trulli. The victory in Mini went to Luxembourg’s Guillaume Bouzar (Parolin-TM Racing/Parolin Racing Team), who led the Norwegian Saeter, and to the Japanese Berta Kean Nakamura (KR-Iame/Team Driver) who led the Pole Maciej. In OK-Junior, the Russian Artem Severiukhin (Tony Kart-Vortex/Ward) won two heats, while the Pole Tymoteusz Kucharczyk (RK-TM racing/BirelArt) led the French Giltaire, and the Brit Arvid Lindblad (KR-Iame/KR Motorsport) the American Ugochukwu.


The program at the Adria Karting Raceway

Saturday, February 1st:

8:50 Warm-up

10:35 Qualifying heats

Sunday, February 2nd:

Warm-up at 8:50

Live streaming

Prefinals at 10:40

Finals B OKJ, Mini at 12:40

Finals OKJ, Mini, OK at 14:00

Results: www.wskarting.it

The WSK Super Master Series 2020 calendar.

Rd. 1: February, 2nd, Adria Karting Raceway

Rd. 2: February, 23rd , South Garda Karting, Lonato

Rd. 3: March, 8th, International Circuit La Conca

Rd. 4: March 22nd, International Circuit Napoli, Sarno